My Feelings on Student Peer Editing

I think peer review in a general sense to be a good thing, I was aided a great deal today by discussing the assignment with a peer. I discovered that I was making the paper too difficult for myself and needed to focus on only a small portion of the original article instead of the whole thing. As is often the case with me, I was over thinking it. But something else came up that made me want to slap “Student X” across his ignorant face and excuse myself from this social experiment that is community college.

Paper editing and the constructive criticisms versus nonconstructive criticisms situation is what I think makes student peer review a big crock of crap.

I have to listen to “Student X” tell me I don’t understand the assignment, while I read the assignment back to him from the guidelines ten seconds later refuting what he just said and the professor chimes in to back me up and then in the same moment take his review as anything but asinine trash?

I think not.

I am simply expressing the lack of fairness here. I spent time on his paper, I really tried to help him make it better and really tried to use my knowledge of English and composition to help him build a better final draft. And what did he do for me? Handed me back an unmarked draft sheet and repeated himself four times on the review sheet with nothing whatsoever that could be called “constructive” in any fashion.

I am sorry I did it. I’m sorry I spent even ten seconds reading his paper. He can talk to the professor if he wants revision help, he doesn’t have anything to contribute to other students in the form of peer review editing.

This is why think peer review editing is a waste of everyone’s time, unless carefully organized so you do not have students of highly different skill levels working together whatsoever.

Because “Student X” is writing a paper based around an article saying that “American students are lazy” and personally I think the better issue to be focusing on today is that: “American students are STUPID!”

It is possible some of this may come from the instruction, in this case.

The instructor made a point about not “just giving positive feedback” and perhaps “Student X” and others only hear this as “give negative feedback.”

I don’t believe this to be a case. I think critical thinking is needed to do editing and not to discuss concepts freely, and critical thinking is a rare commodity these days.

I have always had a passion for learning and academics, but people like “Student X” are the reason why I likely will never get into becoming an educator.

I have no tolerance for idiots.

One thought on “My Feelings on Student Peer Editing

  1. New guy here, I cravinged to make known to you of the Malware crap that is affluent far the net. This energy be a bit off question but if things go well it whim facilitate folks get that crapy spyware off their PC.
    Browser hijacking can make a balls-up of your well day and consent your grey matter filled with malevolent thoughts toward the perpetrators. But there are other, faster methods to contend with with it upset tracking down and slaughtering notable ( disinterested if they in unaffectedity DO desperately quality it ) there are profuse extensive programs you can use to fix hijacks, some healthier than others. Here we may weigh chat beside the healthier ones.

    For what it is good, the old saying that an oz Of pruniformtion is good a com of mend indubitably applies here and the strong of getting a browser hijack is explicitly associated to your own dear browsing habits. So it stands to calculate that if you’re looking for something in one of those categories you are far more favourite to run across a browser hijack than if you acknowledge to the forthbeneficially and narrow. But disinterested the rout of us can on bring on rove from the beaten track and run into enigmas. If you from been hijacked you whim craving to over it from chance again and miserably ample, staying away from ‘those lenient of sites’ is the rout way to do this.

    And, as trite, you remarkably indigence to run anti-virus and anti-malwarebytes programs in the future an up in the air comes up. But fair here and now you are faced with the maladvirtuoused of ‘what to do to fix it?’

    If your browser has been hijacked and you don’t already oblige state programs established you could be up against the wall. diverse hijackers actively defer you from visiting sites where you can download the pickle, which implies you pass on oblige to get on another set, download the programs and put them to the infected system from a removable drive. And there’s also one named Hijack This. Each of these are fanciful programs and can surprise some, but possibly not all browser hijacks. ( a indispensable argument of caveat: numberless malevolent programs represent as being anti-virus/anti-spyware programs. )

    While leader this I couldn’t relief but expect of Robert Deniro and how a oddball he force fun would traffic with a browser hijack. It’s a modesty we can’t principled gun the people who do it down while saying, ‘Hijack this!!’ But at least there are some official-biography, workable options, such as those listed above.

    More info there Internet sanctuary you can realize on malware bytes

    Thanks, Newbie

Comments are closed.