Dreams and Nightmares; Form and Void

1.jung
“The dream rectifies the situation. It contributes the material that was lacking ..”
“As against Freud‘s view that the dream is essentially a wish-fulfillment, I hold … that the dream is a spontaneous self-portrayal, in symbolic form, of the actual situation in the unconscious.”
– C. G. Jung

I believe that what we experience in our dream-state is a subconscious expression of significant symbols that represents our true selves.

No person, in my estimation, is fit to interpret the dreams of others. The internal meanings and underlying contexts always remain outside the understanding of any except the individual dreamer themselves.

Nonetheless, it is still important to share our dreams and nightmares with one another in hopes to bridge the cognitive gap between consciousness and unconsciousness.
In time I will incorporate my own dream-analysis and dreams into this site.

But here we come to a dilemma. I don’t dream.

Or rather, to be specific, I never remember any of my dreams. I take them as existing on a level of unseen and unknown quanties or parameters.

My dreams are nothing but a endless void.

The only thing I know for sure is that they are not dreams, they are nightmares. Of this much I am certain.

Even when I can barely grasp a meaning or setting from a dream it is always clear that all I would discover are painful reenactments of the past.

At least that’s the most I can be sure of from awaking in cold sweats and having often put claw-marks on my face from what everyone reading this would assume was a ‘good dream.’ If my incoherent, flash-point perspective is at all right about what I dreamt.

Mainly, it’s the dread. Every night I’d rather stay awake than sleep. Right now I really don’t want to lose control of this brain. I know what it does. It torments people for fun. Namely me.

***

Every dream I have any strong memory of you would classify a nightmare. A reoccurring dream as child seems like a horror movie or video-game, but it was prior to having seen anything but Rambo and GI Joe. A nightmare that was more real than any dream I’ve ever had or ever since was essentially and quite literally Hell on Earth.

Some people talk about Dream Journals and exploring dreams to better understand yourself. Maybe I don’t want to understand. All that will happen if I start dreaming again is I will start predicting the future or lose my sanity or both.

You never know.

